Printer Friendly Version  Email A Friend  Add This  Increase Text Size  Decrease Text Size

Adult Mental Health

Minnesota’s publicly provided mental health system, as reflected in the Minnesota Comprehensive Mental Health Acts, is a comprehensive Department of Human Services (DHS) supervised and county-administered system providing a range of services for eligible persons. Counties act as the local mental health authority. A wide ‘menu’ of services is provided by state, county, and private providers.

Douglas County Social Services Adult Mental Health (Targeted) Case Management is a voluntary service provided to a qualified person 18 years of age or older who is in need of assistance in a variety of areas such as managing mental health symptoms, mental health resources, employment, housing, social connections, family relations, and other co-occurring conditions. To qualify for Mental Health Case Management, a person must have a ‘serious and persistent mental illness (SPMI)’ (see definitions below) documented by a current diagnostic assessment done by a mental health professional OR be willing to have a diagnostic assessment after your intake. There are related services for qualifying individuals who have a mental health diagnosis but do not meet the eligibility for SPMI.

A Mental Health Case Manager can help you design and reach your mental health recovery goals, make necessary referrals, monitor your progress, and coordinate the various services to link you with what you need based on your goals.

Douglas County Social Services – 320-762-2302

To learn more about Adult Mental Health Services in Minnesota, visit the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) Adult Mental Health website.

Mental Health Definitions:

Mental Illness:
An organic disorder of the brain or a clinically significant disorder of thought, mood, perception, orientation, memory, or behavior that is listed in the ICD-9 CM, code range 290.0 to 302.9 or 306.0 to 316.0.

Serious and Persistent Mental Illness (SPMI):
A condition with a diagnosis of mental illness that meets at least one of the following:

  • The recipient had two or more episodes of inpatient care for mental illness within the past 24 months.
  • The recipient had continuous psychiatric hospitalization or residential treatment exceeding six months duration within the preceding 12 months
  • The recipient has been treated by a crisis team two or more times within the preceding 24 months.
  • The recipient has a diagnosis of schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major depression, or borderline personality disorder, evidences a significant impairment in functioning, and has a written opinion from a mental health professional stating he/she is likely to have future episodes requiring inpatient or residential treatment unless community support program services are provided.
  • The recipient has, in the last three years, been committed by a court as a mentally ill person under Minnesota statutes, or the adult’s commitment as a mentally ill person has been stayed or continued.
  • The recipient was eligible under one of the above criteria, but the specified time period has expired.
  • The recipient was eligible as a child with severe emotional disturbance and the recipient has a written opinion from a mental health professional in the last three years stating that he/she is reasonably likely to have future episode requiring inpatient or residential treatment of a frequency described in the above criteria, unless ongoing case management or community support services are provided.


Mental Health Targeted Case Management (MH-TCM):
Services to help adults with a ‘serious and persistent mental illness (SPMI)’ and children with a ‘severe emotional disturbance (SED)’ gain access to needed medical, social, educational, vocational, financial, and other necessary services as they relate to the recipient’s mental health needs.