Printer Friendly Version  Email A Friend  Add This  Increase Text Size  Decrease Text Size

Marriage License

Douglas County Recorder – 305 8th Ave West Alexandria, MN 56308 – 320-762-3877

Marriage License Application Process

Both applicants must appear in person and present a valid photo ID. 

The application form may be completed online ahead of time, but both parties must still appear together at the Recorder’s Office to sign the form under oath.  You do not need to print the online application.

There is no waiting period for the marriage license, and it is valid for a period of six months. However, applicants requesting a name change that have been convicted of a felony on or after August 1, 2000, are subject to a 30-day waiting period.

Marriage Application Fees:

$115.00 – no premarital education

$40.00 – reduced marriage license fee*

*Reduced Fee Information:

Applies to applicants who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education.  In order to qualify for the discount, the applicants must present a fully signed, dated, and notarized or sealed Educator’s Statement on official letterhead. 


Marriage Officiants


Before an officiant may solemnize a marriage, their official credentials must be filed with the local registrar.  This may be filed with any county in Minnesota. 


The original credentials, along with the signed Certificate of Filing, must be presented for recording.  This can be done in person or in the mail. 


Ordination Filing Fee:  $20.00

Marriage Certificate Requests

To obtain a certified copy, please complete the Certified Marriage Certificate Request Form

Marriage Certificates must be obtained from the county that issued the marriage license.
Certificates may be requested in person, by mail, or by phone.
Certified Marriage Certificate Fee: $9.00


To inquire as to what county is the custodian of the record, visit the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS®)