Increase Text Size   Decrease Text Size

Douglas County News

2022 Budget Hearing

Posted: Friday, December 2, 2022

The 2023 budget and levy is now set. On Thursday, December 1, Douglas County Commissioners held the annual Truth In Taxation Meeting which is a meeting the public is encourage...

Fire at The Corral in Nelson

Posted: Tuesday, November 15, 2022

County Board Meeting November 1 2022

Posted: Wednesday, November 2, 2022

At their November 1 board meeting, Douglas County commissioners approved a number of important contracts for the county Human Services Department. These contracts were present...

Missing Person

Posted: Monday, October 17, 2022

Storm Stories - Waiting for Answers

Posted: Friday, October 14, 2022

As the weather in Douglas County quickly cools, residents impacted by the May tornadoes and high wind events are quickly wondering when, or if, their repairs will be completed...

Fire - Farm Building

Posted: Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Douglas County Board Meeting October 4 2022

Posted: Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Douglas County Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 4 at the boardroom located at 821 Cedar Street, Alexandria. They approved a 2023 health plan for non-union county employee...

Douglas County Commissioner Districts

Posted: Wednesday, September 28, 2022

The Douglas County Commissioners have updated districts. This map is provided for residents to see the new areas and become familiar with their county representative. ...

Douglas County Board Meeting September 6 2022

Posted: Tuesday, September 6, 2022

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners met Tuesday, September 6. Sheriff's Office Douglas County Sheriff Troy Wolbersen presented a resolution to accept a $1,000.00 donatio...

County Board Meeting August 16, 2022

Posted: Friday, August 19, 2022

Douglas County commissioners had a full agenda at the August 16 meeting. Much of the time was devoted to hearing from the agencies and organizations that provide an array of s...

UTV Fatality

Posted: Wednesday, August 17, 2022

County Board Meeting August 2 2022

Posted: Wednesday, August 3, 2022

At the August 2 meeting, the Douglas County Commissioners received several updates on recovery from the May storms. Assessor Stacy Honkomp asked them to approve a resolution t...

Volunteers Needed to Search for Invasive Lake Algae

Posted: Monday, August 1, 2022

V olunteers are needed in Douglas County to help determine if an aggressive algae has made its way into Douglas County lakes. On Saturday, August 20, volunteers will meet to t...

Low Interest Loans for May 30 storm impacted residents

Posted: Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Douglas County has secured a Small Business Administration Disaster Declaration for business owners, primary homeowners and renters from the May 30 tornado. This declaration w...

Proposed Eurasian watermilfoil treatment in Lake Geneva

Posted: Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Notice is hereby given that Douglas County has contracted an aquatic invasive species control project involving herbicide treatments of Eurasian watermilfoil in Lake Geneva. M...

July 2022 County Board Meetings

Posted: Thursday, July 21, 2022

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners met twice in July. The first meeting was July 6, the second meeting was July 19. July 6 Meeting Horizon Public Health At its July 6 m...

Fire

Posted: Tuesday, July 12, 2022

Home Explosion

Posted: Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Storm Recovery Center Scheduled for Thursday July 7

Posted: Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Anyone whose home was destroyed or sustained major damage from the May tornadoes and storms is eligible to attend our Douglas County Storm Recovery Center on Thursday, July 7 ...

Motorcycle Personal Injury Accident

Posted: Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Medical/Storm Related

Posted: Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Medical/Work Related Incident

Posted: Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Motor Vehicle Accident

Posted: Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Construction to Begin on Lake Brophy Park Visitor Center

Posted: Monday, May 23, 2022

Construction on the Lake Brophy Visitor Center is scheduled to begin in early June. This construction will result in a beautiful visitor center and redesigned parking area for...

Douglas County Board Meeting May 17 2022

Posted: Monday, May 23, 2022

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners met Tuesday, May 17 and voted on a number of issues including the following: Commissioners postponed work on the roundabout at County...

Major Road Project on County Road 13

Posted: Monday, May 9, 2022

A major road resurfacing project will close down part of County Road 13 north of Carlos much of the summer.   Beginning Tuesday, May 10, crews will be working on County R...

Criminal Sexual Conduct

Posted: Friday, May 6, 2022

Douglas County Board Meeting May 3 2022

Posted: Wednesday, May 4, 2022

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners and the Alexandria City Council met face to face at the start of the May 3 rd board meeting. Board Chair Tim Kalina and Commissioners...

Impersonating a Police Officer

Posted: Monday, April 25, 2022

County Board Meeting April 19 2022

Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2022

The April 19 Douglas County Board meeting began with a proclamation to recognize the value of child care providers and early educators. Connie Fields, the Douglas County Early...

Reducing Chloride, Increasing Shoreland Protection

Posted: Tuesday, April 12, 2022

When people take a look around Douglas County, they see beautiful lakes, expanding resorts, and nice new homes being built. All of this activity is great for the economy, but ...

April 5 2022 County Board Meeting

Posted: Wednesday, April 6, 2022

At the April 5 meeting, Douglas County Commissioners voted to approve the 2022 redistricting plan as presented by Auditor/Treasurer Vicki Doehling. This plan was necessary fol...

Environmental Assessment for Great River Energy and Runestone Electric Association 115 kV Transmission Substation and Line Project.

Posted: Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Great River Energy (GRE) and Runestone Electric Association (REA) are proposing to construct a new overhead 115 kV transmission line and substation to increase capacity and im...